Welcome. Bienvenido. Willkommen. Benvenuto.

Plaza de España

Plaza de España

Hello everyone! Welcome to my site, Mapless Mike. My name is Mike and hail from America’s dairyland – Wisconsin. In September 2013, I will be leaving my comfortable life and job for the unknown of traveling abroad.

I went to college at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, where I had a double major in Public Administration and Political Science and a minor in 3-D Art. After graduating college, I, like many, got a job. A typical 9 to 5 job in a cubicle working on spreadsheets on a computer. Sounds fun right?

Well after working there for about 3 months, I was bored out of my mind. I began to look for other jobs, but nothing really peaked my interest. The only thing that really got me excited was travel, seeing the world and exploring other cultures. In high school my Spanish class went on a week-long trip through Spain, which was when I was truly introduced to international travel. Later, I studied abroad in Granada, Spain for a semester during my junior year of college. That is where the wanderlust many find found me, and it never let go. A few of my friends either had taught abroad or were teaching abroad in various locations throughout the world, so I began asking them all the questions I could possibly think of. The main thing that all of them said that resonated with me was that they all said if you don’t do this now, you will always regret it.

I truly believe that, which is why I am making the jump and going to teach abroad. I know myself and know that I will regret this opportunity if I never take it, just as I would have regretted not studying abroad in college if I hadn’t done it.

Beginning in October 2013, I’ll be teaching English in Spain through a government grant that they offer. It’s through the Ministerio de Educación, Cultura y Deporte, and my title will officially be Auxiliar de conversacion, which loosely translates to a North American Language and Cultural Assistant. My duties will be assisting an actual teacher in their classroom and helping the students in the class learn English. While I won’t be leaving until sometime in September, I will be giving updates on the application process, my decision to apply, as well as some of my travel experiences and advice until I am actually back in Spain!

Hasta luego.

2 responses to “Welcome. Bienvenido. Willkommen. Benvenuto.

    • Thank you! I actually found her blog while I was in the middle of applying for the program. She has a great site and it’s very helpful. I wish I would have found it before I started doing the application though.

Leave a Reply

