A Change of Plans

I’m writing this as a sit in Wisconsin with a brisk fall breeze blowing outside my window. It’s quite the difference from the comfortable 70-some degrees that it would be in Almuñecar, Spain. Now, if you can put two and two together, you’ve probably realized that I did not go to teach English in Spain. I apologize if this is a disappointment to some. I know it is to me because teaching and living abroad is something I have wanted to do for the past 3 years.

This decision was by no means an easy one. In fact, I believe that it has been one of the most difficult decisions I have ever made. I don’t want to go into the reasons why I chose to not go teach in Spain this year as I’m not sure many care, and they are fairly personal. However, feel free to contact me if you have questions or are having difficulty with a similar decision in your life, and I’d be more than happy to talk about everything with you.

In case you missed it, I did say that I decided not to go this year. Next year, in September 2014, I am fully planning on going to teach English in Spain. I understand that some may not believe that I will actually go next year, but I am planning on it. I also understand that many might not want to continue following my blog throughout the next 9 months since I will not be living abroad. If you choose to continue to follow and support me, thank you very much! I do have some travel plans that I will be releasing shortly that should keep this blog interesting, so keep your internet connected and eyes open…

Support from everyone I’ve met through this blog is what has continued to propel me forward and has encouraged me to continue following my dream of living abroad, so thank you! A special thanks should go to Julia from Nowhere to Go But Everywhere, Cat from Sunshine and Siestas, Trevor from A Texan in Spain, and Olivia from Travels Untranslated. You all have been helpful beyond belief, and while we haven’t actually met in person, yet, you have been some of the kindest and most encouraging people I’ve had the pleasure of getting to know.

Thank you again to everyone. While my life has taken a turn in an unexpected direction, I have always felt that when one door closes, another one opens. Stay tuned!

View of Granada from the Alhambra

View of Granada from the Alhambra

22 responses to “A Change of Plans

  1. I really like that Dalai Lama quote – it’s so true! Unexpected directions can be so interesting and lead to some really cool stuff, even if they are disappointing at first. Good luck with everything in Wisconsin. 🙂

  2. I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t make it over here, but hopefully you’ll make it next year! I hope you have a great year in the US instead. 🙂

  3. Man, that really sucks that you can’t be in Spain this year. But keep your goals and dreams aligned and I know you’ll be back next year. Who knows, if I’m here for a third year we should totally meet up! 😀

    • It does really stink, but I’m just trying to make the most of it and enjoy every day where I’m at now. I’m looking forward to hearing your decision on a third year as it would be great to meet up!

  4. Hi Mike.

    I think we exchanged a few comments on the FB groups. I had to back out of my assignment last minute as well (details on my blog). It was a difficult decision, but it simply wasn’t the right time for me to go.

    The Junta couldn’t have been nicer when I emailed them my renuncia, so I’m hoping that I’m not blacklisted from receiving an assignment next year.

    • Hi Shannon! I remember you from the Facebook groups. I’m hoping that I’m not blacklsited from going next year as it’s my plan to go. The time will be right for me to go then too.

  5. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog and have been waiting for a new post. I’m sad to hear you didn’t make it to Spain this year, but glad that you will be applying for next year. I will be also be applying next month for the 2014 year and will definitely continue to follow your blog =) good luck with everything!

  6. Everything happens for a reason. When you’re meant to live in Spain, IT WILL HAPPEN. Let life lead you. Trust in it.
    Hope life in Wisconsin is treating you well and in the meantime enjoy the detour life has brought you!

  7. Pingback: One Year of Blogging | Mapless Mike·

  8. Pingback: My Upcoming Travel Plans | Mapless Mike·

  9. Pingback: Applying to Teach in Spain: Round 2 | Mapless Mike·

  10. Pingback: A Second Chance at Life | Mapless Mike·

  11. Pingback: Is My Inscrita Number Too High to Receive a Teaching Placement? | Mapless Mike·

  12. Pingback: Deciding to Teach Abroad Now | Mapless Mike·

  13. Pingback: A New Year | Mapless Mike·

  14. Pingback: So I Spoke With My Boss About Moving To Spain… | Mapless Mike·

  15. Pingback: So I Spoke With My Boss About Moving To Spain…·

Leave a Reply

