25 Things to Do While I’m 25

Today, I turned 25 – a quarter century. While I know 25 is not old by any means, it’s the first time since I turned 18 where I’ve felt I hit a milestone-type year. I want to repeat that I do not think 25 is old. In fact, it’s a pet peeve of mine when people say how old they feel when they turn a certain age. You’re only as “old “as you makes yourself.

While reflecting on my first 24 years of life and whatever I have left to go, I’ve thought a lot about what all I have accomplished and what I still want to accomplish. There were lots of things on both sides of this equation. However, what really stood out to me was that since I graduated from college two-and-a-half years ago there were a fair number of things I’ve talked about doing and have wanted to do, but have not gotten around to actually doing.

Over the last few years, I had been making ill-contrived excuses (yes, excuses – not legit reasons) as to why I couldn’t do x, y, or z. Now, I could have chalked it all up to getting lost in the transition into “adulthood,” but accepting that as an excuse would be easy way out if you ask me. I figured why the heck don’t I just do the things I want to do. Nothing is stopping me, and I don’t want to regret letting the chance and opportunity to do these things pass me up. I’ve decided to do 25 things during my 25th year of life. Carpe diem, right?

1. Volunteer.

In college, I volunteered all the time. Regrettably, I’ve hardly volunteered since graduating. I’d really like to volunteer with kids at an after school type program.

2. Take a class.

Art class, fitness class, college course…it could be any type of class. I just want to continue to learn, as education is very important to me.

3. Stay in closer contact with extended family.

One of my aunts calls an extended family member every week just for the sake of staying in contact with everyone. I’ve always admired this about her and staying in touch with my cousins, aunts, and uncles is something I want to do. My family has always been close, but as people grow older it’s easier to grow apart, especially with extended family members.

4. Visit my brother.

My brother will be graduating college in a year, and I want to go visit him. His school is only three hours away, so I really have no excuse. Plus, once he graduates I’ll never be able to visit him while he’s in college again.

Old picture of my brother and I

Old picture of my brother and I

5. Improve my Spanish.

My Spanish skills have slipped further and further into the abyss since I studied abroad, and I cannot let them slip anymore, especially since I’m planning on teaching in Spain next year.

6. Do something for 30 days.

A 30 day challenge of sorts. Whether it’s going vegetarian, writing a blog post, going car-free, or something one of you suggests, I would like to do something and stick with it for 30 days. I’m open to suggestions!

7. Take a spur-of-the-moment trip.

Let’s go! A completely spontaneous trip. No real planning. Just an idea of where and getting up and going.

8. Be more responsible financially.

This means actually figuring out my finances and budgeting a little. Buying $2 PBR tallboys at the bar instead of “good” beer does not count as being responsible financially.

Not the model for financial responsibility…

9. Take a trip to visit a friend.

I have friends all over the world, and I need to get around to visiting them. It’s definitely something I’ve put off doing for far too long.

10. Continue blogging.

Blogging has been something I’ve thoroughly enjoyed over the past 9 months, and I want to continue to blog while doing so more frequently. I have lots of ideas for this site that I’m very excited to share with everyone!

11. Try something completely new.

Simply do something I have never done before. My guess is this opportunity will suddenly hit me in the face one day and I’ll have to make a split second decision to say yes or no. This is where I’ll say yes.

12. Keep exercising and improve on my overall health.

This past year I lost 25 pounds, ran a marathon, and started eating healthier. I want to continue these changes become more of a lifestyle than a set of conscious choices.

Me dying at mile 21 of my marathon

Me dying at mile 21 of my marathon

13. Do something I can be proud of saying I do. 

I love running into old classmates from high school and college, but hate the inevitable question of, “What are you up to now?” Quite frankly, I hate answering this because I’m not proud of what I do. I have a well paying, safe, secure, and boring job that is just that, a job. It’s not a passion. It’s a paycheck. I want to do something that I’m proud to tell people I do.

14. Let someone who inspired me know they inspired me.

Throughout my life there have been many people who have inspired me. I’m going to tell at least of them that they have. They may already know this, but they may not. However, I think they should know.

15. Treat Yo Self

Yes, a Parks & Recreation reference. I’m going to make sure to treat myself once in a while. Maybe it’s a relaxing night in, new clothes, or simply taking the time to do something I want. It’s good to treat yo self sometimes.

16. Explore my own city.

I love exploring new cities and cultures, and I really need to get out and further explore my own. I’m positive there’s a bunch of neat stuff I never knew existed. I’ll be sure to post about it too.

17. Do something adventurous.

I’m always up for an adventurous activity, so I need to find one to do ASAP.

18. Visit a country I’ve never been to before.

I’ve been to numerous countries – many of which I still need to write about – but I want to visit one I’ve never been to. Although, I’m applying to teach in Spain again that doesn’t count because I have been there before, twice.

19. Do art.

I graduated college with a 3D Art minor and have always had a passion for art, especially ceramics. I don’t necessarily have to start making pottery again, but possibly photography, drawing, painting, or graphic design. Who knows?

20. Catch up with friends I haven’t talked with in a while.

I don’t want to loose touch with my friends, and there are certainly some that a phone call to is long overdue.

21. Organize a reunion/trip with friends.

Sort of related to the previous one, I think a reunion or weekend trip with friends would be a blast, especially since I haven’t traveled with quite a few of my friends now that I think about it.

1003362_10151831735876318_1938431655_n

22. Learn.

Never be satisfied with the amount of knowledge you have and always push yourself to learn more.

23. Do something with my Mom/Dad, brother, and myself.

My parents are divorced and growing up it was my Mom, brother, and I half the time, and my Dad, brother, and I the other half of the time. I want to do something with both groups, whether it’s a weekend trip or a night celebration. It was undoubtedly be a great time and a great bonding experienceup and

24. Be irresponsible at times. 

I’m still 25 years old. I don’t need to be completely responsible at all times. It’s okay to let loose, have fun, and not worry. I don’t need my whole life planned right now, and even if others disagree with my philosophy on that, I’m okay with it.

25. Listen.

I can be a bit of a talker, and I need to make sure to listen. I feel as though I am a good listener, but I want to improve on this because everyone can use someone to simply listen. You learn more this way. Ahem, #22.

25*. Do karaoke.

This is an honorable mention because it happened when I was out celebrating my 25th birthday. If you’d like to hear what I did – didn’t – sound like, here you go. Thank you 4 Non Blondes.

What do you think of the list? Would you add anything? I’ll periodically be posting updates on  how completing this list is going.

8 responses to “25 Things to Do While I’m 25

  1. Just so you know, I think ordering PBR to save money is responsible. I am cheap but love beer. And, for what its worth, setting goals has always kept me striving to be better. I think a lot of my ambition comes from always having something in front of me to work for.

  2. I was going to say the same thing about the beer — if you keep ordering PBR in ADDITION to budgeting, you’ll be set for life. (And maybe the next month you can upgrade to craft beer or something classy like that.) I love this list and I’m happy to see you’re still blogging!

    • Thanks Olivia! You’ll be happy to know that I’m still buying PBR. I hope Spain is still treating you well and you’re enjoying your Christmas break in the US!

  3. Pingback: 8 Things to Do in Washington D.C. | Mapless Mike·

  4. Hi!

    I don’t actually know you but as I was putting together MY list for 25 things I want to do while I’m 25 I googled for ideas and this blog post came up. It was really nice to read it and helpful. I hope it all goes well for you!

Leave a Reply

