One Year of Blogging

I cannot believe that I have been blogging for an entire year! First off, thank you WordPress, as the only reason I know this is because of the friendly notification you sent me congratulating me. More importantly, however, thank you to everyone who has been reading this blog and has continued to follow along. I truly appreciate it and probably would not be here writing today if it were not for you.

As I reflect on this past year of blogging, there has been plenty of ups and downs. Doors have closed, yet others have opened. I am in a completely different place from last year, and it is a much better one. Yes, I am still anxiously awaiting my teaching placement in Spain and the much coveted admitida status. Looking back on where I was last year, I was can see that today I am far more ready to make the jump to travel and live in Spain now than I was then.

Life sometimes throws you for a loop, and things change in unexpected ways. Not to be cliché, but things happen for a reason. Within the last month, my dad was hospitalized in an intensive care unit and had a near death experience after being in a medically induced coma for a month. He is recovering now and will live. This wasn’t my reason for changing my plans about going to Spain a year ago; however, it did workout that I was able to be here with him during this time – his time of need. I cannot imagine what it would have been like to be away for this. While I know things can happen next year, I am prepared. I am ready. I am in a better place. 

This blog was not something I honestly thought would last, be it lack of interest from me or readers or simply that I would move on to something else. However, it has grasped ahold me and has become ever important to me, a sense of pride if you will. I am not only able to share what I feel is important, but I have connected with many wonderful, caring, compassionate people who I have never even met in person. The world is a wondrous and delightful place filled with people who care and want to make it better, and while I know this, somedays when I needed a reminder the people I have connected with through this blog have reminded me of this – over and over.

Most of all, I wanted to simply say thank you, not just for reading and commenting though, but for helping to shape me into who I am today. It has truly made a world of difference, and I cannot thank you enough.

14 responses to “One Year of Blogging

  1. Hey Mike, I’ve been following your blog for the past few months because some of your circumstances were similar to mine. The article that caught my attention was the one about the boring routine corporate life. I was elated when I got my placement last year in Spain but rejected my position too and now I am excited after being admitida once more. I wanted to say thanks to you for writing. Your enthusiasm for teaching in Spain despite rejecting your position and continuing your “boring” job has been encouraging for me as I wake up every morning and face the cold, thinking I could have been in Spain right now. Cheers to what’s in store for us across the ocean this fall!

    • Thank you very much, Jolene, for your kind words! I am anxiously awaiting admitida status for next year still, but I know it will eventually come. I’m glad to hear that there are others in this predicament of turning down last year’s placement, but still reapplying for this upcoming year. I wake up every morning wishing I were in Spain too, so I want to thank you for encouraging me as well. What regions did you select for your preferences?

      • I chose Andalucia, Pais Vasco and Cantabria as my top 3 but I really want to get placed in Andalucia. I also feel that I’m more prepared now than last year and I put more thought into the regions I wanted.

  2. It is so true that things happen for a reason and we are put in places at certain times in our lives for certain reasons. So glad to hear your father will be okay and that you found peace to once again move forward. Here’s to an amazing life adventure ahead.

  3. So sorry to hear about your dad being in a coma last month, Mike; I’m glad you were able to be home to be with your family during that time.

    I hope there aren’t any more roadblocks on your journey back to Spain this year…and I hope you manage to make it over to Galicia, too! ^_^

    • Thank you, Trevor. I’m hoping there won’t be any other roadblocks too. I will definitely be planning a trip to Galicia this year. I’d love to meet up!

  4. What a beautiful post. So sorry to hear about your dad, but I’m so glad he’s doing much better. I will keep him in my prayers. I’m sure your admitida status will come through soon, and by this time next year you’ll be well accustomed to la vida española, de nuevo 🙂 xx

    • Thank you so much, Julia! I’m really looking forward to living la vida española. I’ll definitely be planning a trip to Madrid from wherever I’ll be!

    • It is truly amazing. I still cannot believe how many like-minded people I have met through my blog. It’s simply incredible how many have reached out to help me in ways I didn’t think were possible, especially because many I have never met face to face. I will definitely check out your #SundayTraveler too!

Leave a Reply

