My Upcoming Travel Plans

I haven’t really done a great job of updating you all on my future travel plans. It’s something I appreciate and look forward to on some of the other blogs I follow. Unfortunately, I don’t have a plethora of round-the-world cities I’ll be traveling to because I’m trying my best to save as much money as possible before heading to Spain in about 7 months. However, I still have some travel plans up my sleeve before I set off to live la vida española

Phoenix, Arizona

I’ll be heading down to Phoenix, Arizona on July 24-27. Yes, Phoenix in July. I’m aware of the intense heat – 110° highs. It’s a dry heat though, right? Well either way, I will be traveling down there to visit some friends and take in everything the Valley of the Sun has to offer, which includes a Real Madrid vs. Inter Milan fútbol match. While not in Spain, I’m still looking forward to the match as it will be the first one I’ll ever be attending.

I’ve been to Phoenix and the Southwest United States before, but that was back in my early high school days. To be completely honest, I cannot tell you what I all have in store for the city of Phoenix, or rather, what the city of Phoenix has in store for me other than, well, the aforementioned heat.

Boston, Massachusetts

My cousin and his wife live in Boston, but will be moving towards the end of summer. I’ve been offered free lodging at their Beacon Hill flat, so why would I not take advantage of that? Boston is another city that I have never been to, but am excited to explore. I know they will be giving me some tips and exploring with me, but being as busy as they are with their jobs (ahem, Harvard researchers) I’ll have plenty of time to find all of what Boston has to offer. There’s no definitive date set on this trip yet, but make sure to check back!

New York City, New York

It just so happens that I also have a pair of cousins living in New York City whom I will be visiting this spring/summer. I’ll be aiming to combine NYC and Boston into one trip. Fingers crossed that schedules all align! I visited the Big Apple during my early college days for a brief four day stay right before Christmas. The city was wonderful and full of energy, but I’m really looking forward to experiencing New York in slightly warmer weather. With this Boston and New York trip, this Midwesterner will have seen most of the major cities on the East Coast – Washington D.C., Philadelphia, New York City, and Boston.

I may also be sneaking in another trip or two to Winston-Salem, North Carolina, Denver, Colorado, or another location? I guess we’ll all just have to wait and see on that!

If you have any suggestions of things to do, sights to see, or places to eat, please let me know as I’m always looking for any recommendations! Also, if you are going to be in any of these areas, I would love to meet up. Just get in touch with me, and we can figure it out.

6 responses to “My Upcoming Travel Plans

  1. I’m interested to hear what you think about Boston and NYC; I went to both cities for school trips in high school and LOVED Boston (despite things being hella cold) yet didn’t really care for New York…it just didn’t live up to all the hype our culture pours on it. Granted, I somehow missed all the major museums (Natural History, Art, etc.) but still, I just liked the atmosphere in Boston better.

    Personally, I’d love to hit up Chicago this summer since I’ll have some *ahem* frequent flyer miles logged after two years going back and forth…and maybe a town two hours west of where I live since they have a peach festival in July. We’ll see what happens!

    • I likes NYC the first time I went, but I’m definitely more excited for Boston! If you make it to Chicago, let me know! I’m just an hour north in Milwaukee.

  2. Pingback: ABC’s of Travel | Mapless Mike·

Leave a Reply

